Llandudno pier is renowned for being a popular tourist attraction with its identifiable Victorian architecture. This gem of a pier is referred to by some critics as the “Queen of Welsh Piers.”

Construction

Brunlees and McKerrow designed the pier, and it took two years to construct. The building of the pier commenced in 1876, and it was completed in 1878. The pier itself is built from wrought iron structured beams resting on cast-iron columns and finished with traditional wooden decking. The total length of the pier is 2295ft, of which 1234ft stretches out into the Irish Sea.

Background Information

The Llandudno Pier Company initially operated Llandudno pier. In 1968, the pier was purchased by the Trust House Forte Group, a British hotel, and restaurant company, subsequently it then became part of the first leisure corporation in 1983. The current owner is a local businessman Adam Williams. He stated in an interview with Owen Hughes, a Business correspondent for the Daily Post, that “This opportunity never arises for an individual, it’s always corporate done.”

History

The Pier Pavilion was famous for its musical concerts in 1926-1927. Some familiar names such as George Formby, Ted Ray, The Beverley Sisters, and Cliff Richard have all made an appearance at the Pier Pavilion. However, in 1994 the Pier Pavilion was destroyed by a fire, leaving just the decorative wrought iron supports standing. February 13, 2020, marked the 26th anniversary of the Pier Pavilion fire. It has been suggested by developers to renovate the area affected. However, it currently remains empty.

Llandudno’s previous councillor David Hawkins stated that “The development will cause major disruptions to the tourism industry, especially the Pier.” Notably, The National Piers Society (a non-profit making registered charity) stated that “Seaside piers around the coastline of Britain stand as a predominant reminder of the triumphs of Victorian engineers and entrepreneurs. The National Piers Society further suggested that “Only half survive, and several of these face an uncertain future”.

Shops and Concessions

Llandudno pier offers everything from traditional fish and chips and ice cream to old-school entertainment for all the family to enjoy. As you arrive at the pier entrance, you can find a dinky doughnut stall, and to your right, a hot beverage kiosk, the perfect start to a leisurely stroll along the pier. Further along, there will be an amusement arcade, one of two located on the pier. Both arcades are open 10 am to 5 pm offseason and from 10 am to 10.30 pm during the primary summer season and are owned by Tir Prince Leisure Group.

The Shell Shop is one of the many kiosks placed on Llandudno Pier; This quirky little stall offers everything from original artwork to shell and driftwood crafts, perfect for that keepsake gift. It is a family run business, the owner of which has worked on the stall for 30 years, and the vast majority of products are imported from Thailand to offer that unique gift. So why not treat that special someone. The Shell Shop is open Tuesday-Sunday 11-5 pm, from Easter weekend until October half-term.

© Crown copyright (2013) Visit Wales

image